Skip to main content

What a splash!

Thanks to the 70 people who came out (and a few who couldn’t attend in person but sent donations) to support the Foundation and helped raise money for scholarships and internship stipends. We are grateful to our sponsors who helped make the event a success: Dorian LPG; Hudson Structured (Wave Sponsors) Thomas Maritime and Womar (Splash Sponsors); Cozen O’Connor; Fairfield Chemical; Flagship Management; The Marshall Islands Registry; Marine Money; Monjasa; Moran; Simpson, Spence, Young; The American Club; and Veson Nautical (Ripple Sponsors) and Bob Burke, Sean Durkin, Don Frost and Todd Clough (Personal Sponsors). Thanks to Kevin Breen and Jim Lawrence for their auction item donations; and congratulations to Kathy Haines, Neil Quartaro and Lorraine Parsons who had the winning bids for the wine, Ocean Blue basket and restaurant gift certificate. Special thanks to Aaron Woodin who providing technical assistance on the night.

Calling all host companies!

Summer is that time of year when students are seeking summer internships. If you are hosting a summer intern or would like to host a summer intern, please reach out to More information on our internship program is available at

CMA Picnic!

On July 13 at the CMA picnic there will be another opportunity to help support the CMA EF and our summer interns. There will be a 50 -50 raffle and a few silent auction items including Yankee tickets and gift baskets. The money raised at the picnic will help support those students working as interns at maritime companies.

Scholarship Committee

My thanks to Molly McCafferty, Sean Durkin, Chris Aversano and Ian Workman who served on the Scholarship committee reading through the applications we received. The committee was impressed with the quality of the applications, the student’s passion, demonstrated interest in the industry, references, and their academic and extracurricular achievements. Please watch for a complete listing of the 22 scholarship recipients in the newsletter, website ( and social media (Instagram: cmaeducationfoundation and LinkedIn: CMA Education Foundation)

With sincere gratitude,

– Beth Wilson-Jordan
Former CMA President 2008-2012,
current Executive Director, CMA Education Foundation